Coronavirus Management: School Closure

Matthew Arnold School, like all schools across the Country, is now closed to all students except those who have already confirmed that they will be attending.  Those who may attend are the children of key workers, children with EHCP, children accessing free school meals or children with an assigned social worker.  Please contact the school if you have not already told us that you would like your child to be able to access this emergency provision.

We ask that all parents of these groups follow the first principle of keeping their children at home if it is at all possible and to only send them to school if there is no safe alternative.  If anyone in the family is showing symptoms, then students should not be sent to school and the whole family must self-isolate.

We should all be reducing social contact and travel, wherever possible, and by closing the school we are making a significant contribution to that effort.

Learning from home

  • Teachers will set work via google Classroom or a whole class email  and will be following the school timetable. 
  • We expect all students to follow their timetable too.  This includes our Year 11 and Year 13 students as it's vital to keep up routines as part of good learning and study habits. We will be communcating separately by email with students in years 11 and 13 to explain the arrangements for awarding Grades this summer in the absence of extrenal examinations.
  • Teachers will be available to respond to emails from students / communication through google classroom at the timetabled slots but not at other times.
  • If a teacher is unwell, they will not be setting work or responding to email.  We are sure that you will understand the situation.

Contact Leadership

Leadership Team

To send an email to a member of the School Leadership Team please click on their name below. The school's policy is to respond to emails within 24 hours.



Mrs K Ryan Headteacher
Mr G Marshall Senior Deputy Headteacher,Curriculum and Staffing
Mr A Broadley Deputy Headteacher, Improving School Effectiveness
Mr I Carr Business Manager
Ms E Harries Assistant Headteacher, Teaching and Learning
Mrs L Hood-Smith Assistant Headteacher, Inclusion
Miss T Oakden Head of Sixth Form & IAG
Mrs H Palin Assistant Headteacher, Student Welfare and Development
Mr A Webster Assistant Headteacher, Assessment and Information Management

Which leadership team member do you want to contact?

Select the person you want to send the message to, then click the "Send email" button.

  • Send Email - click to open

Governing Body

To contact a Governor, please email the Clerk to the Governors (Mrs E Bickley).



Ms J Cottee Community Governor/Chair

Miss C Cooke Staff
Mr J Disley Parent/Vice-Chair
Dr S McKellar Stephen Community Governor
Mrs N Noel-Shodunke Parent
Prof T Rayment Community Governor
Mrs K Ryan Headteacher
Mrs S Smith Staff
Mr M Verrier
Community Governor
Mrs S Ward Community Governor